RSS

Improve through Share — With Web2.0 Tools

15 Aug

Hi guys,

Last week, the lecturer introduced two books to us: ‘Who moved my cheese’ and ‘Wikinomics’. Before that, I’ve finished the ‘Who moved my cheese’, and continue to read the other one. Even though the ‘cheese’ book I’ve read is the Chinese version, it still impressed me a lot. For the most adults, the story is really simple and maybe a little childish. But think deeply, our life is just like this maze filled with changes, right? The four characters of the story just represent different reactions when human encounter the changes.

When I arrived at Brisbane one month ago, I really felt confused and discomfort. It is a so big change for me. The language, the culture, the faces even the air, all of these are so strange to me even I knew they are inevitable in advance. But I must learn to adapt to change quickly. Change my language, my life style and communication style, and then find my ‘cheese’ in Brisbane. It is not simple like it sounds like. But change means progress and innovation, don’t afraid of it and enjoy it. That is what I learned from that book. So if you haven’t read it, you should spend an hour on it and I’m sure you can find much more than you imaged.

Well, sorry, there is a little deviation from the main topic. Today I will talk about the web 2.0 tools and how I use these tools as well as my experience. As the Wikinomics told us, the new innovation and creation model in the modern society should be peer production or peering. The mass collaboration changes everything. In terms of web 2.0 tools, it provides you with open platform and ways to communicate with others all over the world such as the Wikipedia. Anyone can edit it from individuals to huge companies. The knowledge can be improved over time, and information involving millions of categories can be searched. More efficient than blogs within the organization, companies can use internal wikis to promote collaboration and provide easier access to important events, projects, policies and more.

For me, the most used tools or ways are blogging, wiki and twitter. Each of these has separate purpose and simple to use. Twitter for me is more like an entertainment place. I can share my daily feelings, photos and a hoard of anecdotes. Following people I interested in is really a wonderful thing. I can make new friends, share happiness with each other whoever you are, and even know much about my idols and celebrities.

The blog for me is more formal. I use it to record my learning and working. Share the knowledge to others and get the advice from others and then improve myself. Beside edit my own blog regularly, I often visit other blogs with similar interests or topics to share the opinions. When I edit my new blog, I choose Wikipedia as my free encyclopedia to search useful information and resources. Then, invite my twitter friends to come to my blog. That is a benign circle.

Here is a funny video to give you a short introduction to wikis and illustrate how they can be used to organize a group’s information:

About Wiki!

Of course, there are many other web 2.0 tools like common craft which is more like a video library, Facebook, RSS etc. And these tools help you to complete open, peer, share and globalization which is the theme of Wikinomics.

Reference:( If I have some grammer or spelling mistakes, I am glad that you can point it out and help me to improve it.)

Who Moved My Cheese

How to build your own Wikipedia

How to create your own Wikipedia page!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2011 in Enterprise2.0, strategy

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Improve through Share — With Web2.0 Tools

  1. vydam

    August 15, 2011 at 2:49 am

    The wiki business model is used in some companies but during my research I noticed that some of the companies who use do not use the whole lot (peer, sharing, global actualisation). I guess its not needed? the companies which I research used peer and sharing but do not use global actualisation.

    If you have time please take a read of my post

     
    • Wu Yunshan

      August 15, 2011 at 3:20 am

      yeah,I’ve read your post. Most companies use part of Wikinomic models.In my view, many companies don’t use global actualisation coz most companies should be called multinational rather than global. You can read the book ‘the world is flat'( I don’t know if you have read it), maybe you can find the results.

       
  2. Dawn Lau

    August 15, 2011 at 5:58 am

    Hi Yunshan
    You will familiar with Brisbane environment soon and wish everything will be fine! 🙂

    If there is any question in BNE, please feel free to email / message me and I’m happy to help, although it is my last semester in QUT, haha!

     
    • Wu Yunshan

      August 15, 2011 at 10:55 pm

      Thank you! I believe I can, and hope you enjoy your last semester in QUT.

       
  3. weidingep2

    August 15, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Hi

    after read all your blogs, I think you really do excellent job on analysing and description on web 2.0 application. Pictures are also funny and I love it

    Wei

     
  4. Morohen

    August 15, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Dear Wuyunshan

    I wish you the best in your study in Australia and I assure you that you will love “Bris Vegas” as the Brizy people call it!

    I would like to tell you that we are luck to like the age of Web 2.0 technologies. Using Web 2.0 technologies as an International Student will help you a lot during your stay in Australia. For example, making booking or organising a trip to paying your utilities. I believe that Web 2.0 application are great tools and must be used at anytime and in anyplace to facilitate human lives.

     
    • Wu Yunshan

      August 15, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      Hi Morohen!
      ” Bris Vegas”, What a funny name! I love it. In fact, I feel increasingly fond of this beautiful and friendly land.

       
  5. laucurtis

    August 17, 2011 at 1:44 am

    Hi Yunshan,

    Great Post! Welcome to Brisbane! Now I know how different people use web 2.0 tools to enhance learning and personal experiences. Did you already have blog set-up in your home town or you find this out when you came to Brisbane?

    I hope you enjoy your time here and make plenty of new friends.

    Thanks

     
    • Wu Yunshan

      August 18, 2011 at 8:07 am

      yeah, in my hometown, I have my own blog. But I haven’t updated for a long time, keke

       
  6. polin8106673

    August 18, 2011 at 7:38 am

    Hi Yunshan

    I like people who blogging with real feelings, good post especially the word “mass collaboration” good describtion!

    Hope you can be used to Brisbane as soon as possible, good luck 🙂

     
  7. sultanqut

    August 22, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    it is enjoyable post which I have read

     

Leave a Reply

 
